Select Page

Italy in Photos

Photos of Italy taken on Walks in the Cities Towns & Villages of Italia


With Italy in Photos experience the enchanting allure of Calabria as its captivating photos unlocks one of the hidden gems of Italy. Calabria is a region in the south of Italy, known for its rich history, culture, and natural beauty. It is a land of contrasts, where the mountains meet the sea, where ancient traditions coexist with modern lifestyles, and where the people are proud of their roots and identity. Calabria has a long and varied history, dating back to the ancient Greeks who colonized the coast and named it Magna Graecia (Great Greece). They left behind impressive temples, theatres, and statues that can still be admired today. Calabria was also influenced by the Romans, the Byzantines, the Normans, the Swabians, the Angevins, the Aragonese, and the bourbons, each leaving their mark on the architecture, art, and cuisine of the region. Calabria has many archaeological sites and museums that showcase its rich heritage. Calabria is also a region of natural wonders, with three national parks that protect its diverse flora and fauna. The Pollino National Park is the largest in Italy and covers the northern part of Calabria and Basilicata. It is home to rare species such as the Apennine wolf, the golden eagle, and the Bosnian pine. The Sila National Park is in the centre of Calabria and features vast forests, lakes, and plateaus. It is a popular destination for hiking, skiing, and fishing. The Aspromonte National Park is situated in the south of Calabria and encompasses the rugged mountains that overlook the Strait of Messina. It is a place of stunning views, waterfalls, and caves.

Calabria is also famous for its coastline, which stretches for over 800 km and offers some of the most beautiful beaches in Italy. The Tyrrhenian coast is characterized by rocky cliffs, sandy coves, and picturesque villages such as Tropea and Scilla. The Ionian coast is flatter and sandier, with long beaches and ancient ruins such as Locri and Sibari. Both coasts have clear blue waters that are ideal for swimming, snorkelling, and diving. Calabria is not only a region of sights, but also of tastes. Its cuisine is based on fresh local ingredients such as olive oil, tomatoes, peppers, eggplants, onions, garlic, herbs, cheese, fish, and meat. Some of its specialties include nduja (a spicy spreadable sausage), caciocavallo silano (a smoked cheese), fileja (a twisted pasta), sagne chine (a baked pasta dish with meat sauce), peperonata (a stew of peppers and tomatoes), baccalà alla calabrese (salted cod with potatoes and olives), pesce spada alla ghiotta (swordfish with capers and tomatoes), pitta di San Martino (a sweet bread with dried fruits), mostaccioli (honey cookies), bergamot (a citrus fruit used for liqueurs and perfumes), and liquorice (a root used for candies and drinks). Calabria is a region that deserves to be discovered and appreciated for its unique charm and diversity. It is a place where you can experience the authentic Italian lifestyle, with its warmth, hospitality, and joy of living. Calabria is a region that will surprise you with its beauty and captivate you with its soul. Unearth the hidden jewels nestled within this captivating region and allow Italy in Photos to capture the true essence of Calabria through its lens.

The Provinces of Calabria

Catanzaro – The Province of Catanzaro is a region in southern Italy, located in the eastern part of Calabria. It is bordered by the Ionian Sea and the Tyrrhenian Sea, and it contains the Isthmus of Catanzaro, a narrow strip of land that connects the two coasts. The province has a rich history and culture, influenced by the Greeks, Romans, Byzantines, Normans, and Albanians who settled there over the centuries. The capital city, Catanzaro, is known as the “City of the two Seas” and the “City of the three V’s”, referring to its patron saint, its silk industry, and its windy climate. The province also boasts natural attractions, such as the Sila National Park, the Gulf of Squillace, and the beaches of Copanello and Soverato,

Cosenza – The Province of Cosenza is a region in southern Italy, situated in the western part of Calabria. It is surrounded by mountains and seas, offering diverse landscapes and natural attractions. The province has a long and rich history, dating back to the ancient times of the Bruttii, an Italic tribe that resisted the Greek and Roman invasions. The capital city, Cosenza, is the cultural and economic hub of the province, and the site of the legendary tomb of Alaric I, the king of the Visigoths who sacked Rome in 410 AD. The province is also home to many ethnic minorities, such as the Occitans and the Albanians, who have preserved their languages and tradition.

Crotone – The Province of Crotone is a province located in the Calabria region of Italy. It was established in 1992 after being carved out of a section of the province of Catanzaro. The provincial capital is the city of Crotone, which was founded in 710 BCE. The area around Capo Colonna, the easternmost point of the province, has revealed numerous archaeological remains of Stone Age settlements, with large quantities of Neolithic pottery being found. The Greeks settled on the coasts of Calabria during the 8th and 7th centuries BC, and the city of Crotone was founded by Greek Achaeans in around 710 BC. It contains the mountain Pizzuta, the National Park of the Sila, Montagnella Park, and the Giglietto Valley. The northwesterly part of Crotone forms part of the high plateau of La Sila and includes part of the Sila National Park, a rugged wilderness area which has open heathland, and forests of pine, oak, beech and fir. In the upland areas chestnuts and olives are grown, and most of the province is a lowland agricultural area with orchards of citrus fruits and vineyards

Reggio di Calabria – The Province of Reggio di Calabria is the southernmost province in mainland Italy, separated from the island of Sicily by the Strait of Messina. Its capital is the city of Reggio, the oldest and largest city in the region of Calabria. The province has a rich history and culture, dating back to ancient times when it was part of Magna Graecia, a colony of Ancient Greece. The province is home to the National Archaeological Museum of Magna Graecia, which houses the famous Bronzes of Riace, two stunning Greek bronze statues. The province also boasts a diverse natural landscape, with mountains, hills, plains and coasts, where citrus fruits, olives and vines are cultivated. The province is known for its climate, ethnic and cultural diversity, and its production of bergamot, a fragrant citrus fruit used in perfumery.

Vibo Valentia – The Province of Vibo Valentia is a province in the Calabria region of Italy, set up in 1992 and formerly part of the province of Catanzaro1. Its capital is the city of Vibo Valentia, which overlooks the Gulf of Sant’Eufemia and has a medieval historical centre and a Norman castle. The province has a varied landscape, with mountains, forests, valleys, and coasts, where agriculture and fishing are important activities. The province has a long and rich history, dating back to the ancient Greek colony of Hipponion, part of Magna Graecia. The province is home to archaeological sites, cultural events, and beautiful beaches.

Gioia Tauro

Reggio Di Calabria

Santa Domenica