Select Page

Italy in Photos

Photos of Italy taken on Walks in the Cities Towns & Villages of Italia

Valle d’Aosta

Welcome to Italy in Photos and an immersive visual journey through the enchanting region of the Valle d’Aosta: – Valle d’Aosta, or Aosta Valley, is a mountainous autonomous region located in northwestern Italy. It is the smallest, least populous, and least densely populated region of Italy. The region is bordered by Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France, to the west, Valais, Switzerland, to the north, and by Piedmont, Italy, to the south and east. The regional capital is Aosta. Covering an area of 3,263 km² and with a population of about 128,000, it is known for its picturesque mountain villages, small rural churches, castles, and Baroque art. One of the region’s most notable natural features is its Alpine valley which includes the Italian slopes of Mont Blanc, Monte Rosa, Gran Paradiso and the Matterhorn; its highest peak is Mont Blanc (4,810 m). This makes it the highest region in Italy. The valleys in Valle d’Aosta usually above 1,600 m, annually have a cold continental climate. In this climate, the snow season is very long, as long as 8 or 9 months at the highest points. During the summer, mist occurs almost every day. These areas are the wettest in the western Alps. The official languages are Italian and French; Valdôtain, a dialect of Franco-Provençal, is also officially recognized. Italian is spoken as a mother tongue by 77.29% of the population, Valdôtain by 17.91%, and French by 1.25%. Valle d’Aosta offers a unique blend of natural beauty and cultural richness. Its stunning landscapes, historical sites, delicious cuisine, and warm people a great destination for any traveller. Unearth the hidden jewels nestled within this captivating region, and allow Italy in Photos to capture the true essence of the Valle d’Aosta through its lens.

The Valle d’Aosta region is located in the northwestern part of Italy and is an autonomous region with no provinces 12. The regional government has taken all the administrative functions of a province. The region is divided into 74 communes