Select Page

Italy in Photos

Photos of Italy taken on Walks in the Cities Towns & Villages of Italia


Welcome to Italy in Photos, a mesmerizing visual experience that unveils the hidden treasures of Liguria – Liguria is a region of north-western Italy, bordered by France to the west, Piedmont to the north, and Emilia-Romagna and Tuscany to the east. Its capital is Genoa. The region is part of the Alps–Mediterranean Euroregion. Liguria is the third smallest Italian region after Aosta Valley and Molise, but is also one of the most densely populated, with a population density of 287 ab/km², much higher than the national average, and is fourth place after Campania, Lombardy and Lazio. However, there is much difference between inland mountain areas and coastal areas. Liguria’s territory is crossed by the Alps and the Apennines mountain range. The narrow strip of land is bordered by the sea, the Alps and the Apennine Mountains. Some mountains rise above 2,000 m; the watershed line runs at an average altitude of about 1,000 m. The region has a coastline of about 350 km on the Ligurian Sea. The sea is clean and clear, with a rich marine life. The region has many beaches, some of which are sandy while others are rocky. Liguria’s climate is mild throughout the year. The summers are hot and dry while winters are mild and rainy. The region has a Mediterranean climate with an average temperature of 15°C (59°F). The best time to visit Liguria is from May to September when the weather is warm and sunny. Liguria has a rich history and culture. It was inhabited by Ligures people in ancient times. Liguria has many beautiful towns that are worth visiting such as Genova, Portofino, Cinque Terre, Sanremo etc. Genova is one of Italy’s largest cities and has a rich history dating back to ancient times. It has many museums such as Palazzo Rosso, Palazzo Bianco etc., which house some of Italy’s finest art collections.

Cinque Terre is a UNESCO World Heritage Site that comprises five picturesque villages on the coast: Monterosso al Mare, Vernazza, Corniglia, Manarola and Riomaggiore. These villages are connected by hiking trails that offer stunning views of the sea. – Portofino is a small fishing village that has become a popular tourist destination due to its beautiful harbor and colorful houses. – Sanremo is known for its beautiful gardens such as Villa Ormond etc., which are filled with exotic plants from around the world. Liguria’s cuisine is famous for its seafood dishes such as anchovies from Monterosso al Mare etc, pesto sauce made with fresh basil leaves etc, focaccia bread etc. Liguria is a beautiful region that offers something for everyone – from its stunning coastline to its rich history and culture. Let our captivating photographs transport you to the very heart of Liguria, capturing its unique essence in every meticulously crafted image. Italy in Photos – uncovering the wonders of Italy, one breathtaking image at a time.

The Provinces of Liguria

Imperia – The Province of Imperia is a mountainous and hilly province in the Liguria region of Italy, situated between France to the north and the Ligurian Sea to the south. The province is home to 66 municipalities and its capital is the city of Imperia. The province is known for its stunning coastal landscapes, picturesque villages, and delicious cuisine. The coast is characterized by rocky headlands and small pebbly bays, with each valley having its own seasonal river or torrential stream. The mountain chain to the north of the province has several peaks above 1,600 meters, with some peaks on the French border above 2,000 meters. The province is also home to the River Roia, whose upper stretches are within France. The nearest international airport is Nice Côte d’Azur Airport in France. The coast shares much sentiment and history with the French coast, which was until 1860 a part of the northern Italian Kingdom of Sardinia and Savoy. The province is a succession of hills and valleys ending at the coast in rocky headlands and small pebbly bays. The main communications infrastructure runs east–west along the coast, with several international express trains serving this coast while the motorway is characterized by many tunnels and viaducts.

Savona – The Province of Savona is a coastal area in the northwest of Italy, part of the Liguria region. It has a population of about 280,000 and its capital is the city of Savona, a historical seaport that was once the home of the explorer Christopher Columbus. The province boasts a rich cultural heritage, with many churches, monasteries, castles, and museums to visit. It also offers a variety of natural attractions, such as the Ligurian Alps, the Apennine Mountains, and the Gulf of Genoa, where you can enjoy the Mediterranean climate and the beautiful beaches. The Province of Savona is a perfect destination for those who love history, art, nature, and gastronomy

Genoa – The Province of Genoa is a beautiful region located in the Liguria region of Italy. It has a population of approximately 0.9 million people. The capital of the province is the city of Genoa, which is also the largest city in the region. The province is bordered by the provinces of La Spezia to the east, Alessandria to the north, and Pavia to the northwest. The history of the province is closely tied to the history of the Republic of Genoa, which was a major maritime power in the Mediterranean Sea and the Black Sea during the Late Middle Ages. The territory of the province was divided into local podesterias, and lordships were created in some areas of the territory, administered by various noble families of the time. The province was established in 1859 and was subdivided into five districts, Levante, Chiavari, Genoa, Savona, and Albenga. The province is known for its stunning coastline, picturesque villages, and delicious cuisine. Some of the most popular tourist attractions in the province include the Aquarium of Genoa, the historic center of Genoa, and the Cinque Terre National Park. The province is also home to several beautiful beaches, including the beaches of Camogli, Sestri Levante, and Varazze. The cuisine of the province is characterized by fresh seafood, pesto, and focaccia bread,

La Spezia – The Province of La Spezia is a beautiful and diverse region in the Liguria region of Italy. Its capital is the city of La Spezia, a major naval and commercial port on the Ligurian Sea. The province has a population of about 220,000 inhabitants. It is composed of 32 communes, each with its own history and culture. The province is famous for its natural and cultural attractions, such as the Cinque Terre, Portovenere and the Islands, which are UNESCO World Heritage Sites. These picturesque villages and islands offer stunning views of the sea and the mountains, as well as delicious local cuisine and wine. The province is also rich in history and art, as it was the home of many illustrious figures, such as the poet Percy Bysshe Shelley, the painter Amedeo Modigliani, and the composer Niccolò Paganini. The province is also known for its military valor, as it was awarded with the gold medal for Military Valour for its resistance during the Second World War. The Province of La Spezia is a destination that will enchant and inspire anyone who visits it.

Cinque Terre



Finale Ligure



La Spezia







Porto Venere



Riva Trigoso

Santa Margherita Ligure



Sestri Levante